BBC World Service has announced new language services

BBC World Service has recently announced the biggest expansion since “the 1940s” which is a result of the funding boost received from the UK Government last year. The launch of 11 new languages (Afaan Oromo, Amharic, Gujarati, Igbo, Korean, Marathi, Pidgin, Punjabi, Telugu, Tigrinya, and Yoruba) is part of this expansion, and the services are expected to be available in 2017.

BBC is also planning on focusing on digital services to offer more mobile and video content and a greater social media visibility, as well as new regional programming BBC Arabic, more news bulletins in Russian having regionalised versions for surrounding countries, investment in Word Service English with new programmes, more original journalism and a larger agenda, and many other plans for the future.

This new language services mean that BBC World Service will cover 40 languages, including English, after the expansion.



FacebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailFacebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailby feather

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *