Google Translate added 13 new languages

According to a recent update announced on the official blog, Google Translate has added 13 new languages, reaching a total number of 103 languages supported that cover 99% of the online population.

Google’s free online translation service now offers support for the following languages: Amharic, Corsican, Frisian, Kyrgyz, Hawaiian, Kurdish (Kurmanji), Luxembourgish, Samoan, Scots Gaelic, Shona, Sindhi, Pashto and Xhosa. Adding new languages involve a lot of work, so Google relies on people in Translate Community to help improving the existing translations, as well as to add new ones.

Some of the fun facts mentioned about these new supported languages say that Amharic, the official working language of Etiopia, is known as the second most generally spoken Semitic language after Arabic or the fact that Luxembourgish is the last language to complete the list of official EU languages covered by Google Translate.

Find out more interesting facts about the added languages reading Google Translate blog.

New languages added

FacebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailFacebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailby feather

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Google Search to provide automatic translation | L10nHub

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *